Department of Employee Trust Funds
Local Health Insurance Administration Manual

Chapter 9 — COBRA, Continuation and Conversion

901 Overview of COBRA, Continuation and Conversion

902 Persons Eligible for Continuation (Qualified Beneficiaries)
903 Employee Responsibilities

904 AQualified Beneficiary Responsibilities

905 Employer Responsibilities

906 Notice Requirement lllustration Chart

907 Continuation Coverage Information

901 Overview of COBRA, Continuation and Conversion

Under the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA), participants and
their eligible dependents covered under the Wisconsin Public Employers Group Health
Insurance Program have options available to them for the continuation or conversion

of health insurance coverage in the event eligibility for group coverage ends. COBRA
requires that the WPE Group Health Insurance Program offer subscribers (employees/
members) and their covered dependents (qualified beneficiaries) temporary extension
of identical coverage at the group rate for a maximum of 18 months (36 months under
certain circumstances) following specific events, referred to as “qualifying events” (refer
to subchapter 902). The following provides an overview of Continuation and Conversion.

Continuation:

Wisconsin statutes (Wis. Stat. § 40.51 (3-4), § 632.897) incorporate and extend the
federal COBRA benefit noted above. Under this subsection, authority is given to the
Wisconsin Group Insurance Board (GIB) to reinforce and broaden continuation rights
under certain circumstances (e.g., to include domestic partners).

Note: Where Federal (COBRA) and State (continuation) laws differ, the law most
favorable to the participant will apply. When used in this Chapter, “COBRA continuation’
refers to the State or Federal legislation resulting in the most favorable outcome to the
participant, unless otherwise specified.

y

Note: One commonly encountered distinction between federal and state law occurs in
late-reported divorce. Under federal law, divorcees are entitled to 36 months of COBRA
following the divorce event. (For example, a divorce reported on month 34 after the
event would only leave the ex-spouse with a balance of 2 months.) However, state law
guarantees a minimum of 18 months’ continuation regardless of event date. As a result,
state law rules are followed and the ex-spouse would be entitled to continuation for
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months 34 through 51.
Conversion:

Conversion coverage is available to participants who have been covered under the
WPE Group Health Insurance Program under terms negotiated with the health plan.
Participants may elect to convert to individual (non-group) coverage upon loss of
eligibility for group coverage, i.e., when they reach the maximum length of continuation
of group coverage or in lieu of continuation coverage. Participants electing conversion
coverage do not need to provide evidence of insurability but must apply directly with
the health plan through the process established by the health plan. The benefits and
rates for conversion coverage are different than the benefits and rates for continuation
coverage.

902 Persons Eligible for Continuation (Qualified Beneficiaries)

Under federal and state laws, when group health insurance coverage would otherwise
end because of a life event known as a “qualifying event,” employees and their covered
dependents become “qualified beneficiaries” and must be offered continuation coverage
(refer to subchapter 905 for employer responsibilities).

A. Employees must be offered continuation coverage in the event coverage is lost due
to either of the following events:

« Termination of employment (for reasons other than gross misconduct), including
retirement. The exception is when an employee retires and elects to take an
immediate annuity and to continue health insurance. (Refer to Chapters 10, 11,
and 12).

» Completion of the maximum prepayment periods of 36 months while on a leave of
absence or layoff. (Refer to Chapter 7).

B. The spouse/domestic partner of an employee with family coverage in the WPE Group
Health Insurance Program becomes a qualified beneficiary as a result of any of the
following qualifying events:

» Death of spouse/domestic partner (employee). (Refer to Chapter 14 on Employee
Death.)

» Divorce. Coverage as a dependent spouse continues until the later of:

o The end of the month in which the employer provides notification of
continuation rights (Continuation - Conversion Notice [ET-2311]). (Refer to
subchapter 903.)

or
o The end of the month in which the divorce is entered/final.
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« Termination of domestic partnership. Coverage as a domestic partner ends at the
end of the month the partnership is terminated.

» Spouse/domestic partner (employee) loses coverage for reasons listed above
under section A.

C. Each eligible dependent child of an employee with family coverage in the WPE
Group Health Insurance Program becomes a qualified beneficiary as a result of any
of the following qualifying events:

» Death of parent/stepparent or parent’s/stepparent’s domestic partner (employee;
refer to Chapter 14 on Employee Death).

» Dependent eligibility status ceases under the WPE Group Health Insurance
Program (Refer to the chart in subchapter 906 for examples).

» Parents become divorced resulting in loss of eligibility.

» Parent/step-parent and their domestic partner end a domestic partnership
resulting in loss of eligibility.

» Parent (employee) loses coverage for reasons listed above in A.

D. An eligible dependent of a minor dependent of an employee with family coverage in
the WPE Group Health Insurance Program becomes a qualified beneficiary when
losing eligibility as a result of the minor dependent (parent) turning age 18. Coverage
for the dependent of a minor dependent terminates at the end of the month in which
the dependent child turns 18.

E. An eligible disabled dependent, over age 26, of an employee with family coverage
in the WPE Group Health Insurance Program becomes a qualified beneficiary upon
loss of disabled status. Coverage terminates at the end of the month in which it is
determined the disabled status ceases.

Note: When a voluntary change in coverage from a family plan to a single plan

is done in anticipation of a divorce, the spouse and dependent children are

eligible for continuation coverage when the divorce is final. The effective date for
continuation coverage in this case is the date of the entry of the judgment of divorce.
This is usually when the judge signs the divorce papers and the Clerk of Courts
date-stamps them. In all other cases, voluntary cancellation does not create a
continuation enrollment opportunity.

903 Employee Responsibilities

Employees and/or the qualified beneficiaries (refer to subchapter 902) are responsible
for informing the employer of a qualifying event in which an employee and/or dependent
loses eligibility for coverage under the WPE Group Health Insurance Program.
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Under Federal COBRA law, if the employer is not notified within 60 days of the:
» event that caused the loss of coverage, or

» end of the period of coverage, whichever is later,

the right to continuation coverage is lost. Under state continuation law, separate
requirements may allow notification after the 60-day period in limited divorce
circumstances.

In the event of a divorce, if an employee does not notify their employer of their divorce,
coverage for the ex-spouse and any stepchildren continues if the family premium
continues to be paid. The ex-spouse must then be given the right to continue coverage
even if notice is given beyond 60 days following the divorce.

Should the employee fail to advise the employer of divorce within 60 days of the event,
the employer must provide notice to stepchildren that they are ineligible to continue
coverage as a qualified beneficiary of the employee as soon as possible. Coverage
terminates the end of the month in which the employer provides the notice of the right
to continue coverage (Continuation - Conversion Notice (ET-2311) to the ex-spouse
and any stepchildren or children of minor stepchildren. In this situation, employers must
check with ETF on the length of continuation coverage that is available.

Note: The ex-spouse is eligible to continue coverage under a single contract or a family
contract with eligible dependents. The stepchildren or children of minor stepchildren

are not eligible to continue coverage under a single contract of their own because
notice of the divorce was not given to the employer within 60 days of the divorce. If the
stepchildren meet the criteria of being an eligible dependent and the ex-spouse applies
for family coverage as a continuant, the stepchildren can be included as covered
dependents on the ex-spouse’s family contract.

Note on terminations of domestic partnerships: Former DPs are also eligible to elect
a single contract or a family contract with eligible dependents also losing coverage.
Dependents of DPs are treated like stepchildren (or their dependents’ children if that
dependent is a minor) in the same way as indicated in the paragraph above. Coverage
of former DPs (and dependents) will only extend through the end of the month the
partnership terminates; the employer notification date will not affect the end date of
coverage. DPs lose continuation rights if notice of termination is not received within 60
days.

904 AQualified Beneficiary Responsibilities

When electing continuation or conversion coverage, qualified beneficiaries are
responsible for the following:

« Submitting the Continuation - Conversion Notice (ET-2311) and the Health Insurance
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Application/Change Form (ET-2301) to ETF. Both forms (an employee need only
submit a Continuation - Conversion Notice unless requesting a change in coverage)
must be sent to ETF (that is, postmarked) no later than 60 days from the termination
of their coverage or within 60 days of the date they were notified by their employer,
whichever is later. If qualified beneficiaries do not elect continuation coverage within
the 60-day period, they lose eligibility to enroll under continuation.

+ Paying premium to the health plan when billed by the health plan.

* Reporting any changes affecting coverage, for example, address change, birth or
adoption. If continuation coverage is elected, changes must be reported to ETF; if
conversion coverage is elected, changes must be reported to the health plan.

» Subscribers and their insured dependents continuing coverage must enroll in
Medicare Parts A and B when initially eligible. A copy of the Medicare card must be
submitted to ETF. If a qualified beneficiary is eligible for Medicare:

o prior to or on the effective date of COBRA coverage, they are eligible for
Medicare reduced rates.

o after COBRA coverage begins, COBRA coverage ends when the subscriber or
dependents enroll in Medicare Parts A and B.

- Qualified beneficiaries not eligible for Medicare remain eligible for COBRA
coverage.

- If Part B becomes effective after the continuation begins, the continuation
period ends at the end of the month prior to when Medicare Part B becomes
effective.

905 Employer Responsibilities

Within five days of being notified of the “qualifying event,” the employer is responsible
for notifying qualified beneficiaries of their right to continue group coverage or convert to
individual coverage by providing them with the following documents:

» Continuation - Conversion Notice (ET-2311), with the employer sections completed.

* Health Insurance Application/Change Form (ET-2301). This form is needed to
enroll in continuation or conversion. The employee does not need to complete the
application if continuing the coverage already in effect. The employee must still
complete and return the Continuation - Conversion Notice. The employer should not
complete any information on this form.

Note: A continuation notice must be provided within the five-day period even when
it is determined the qualified beneficiary is not entitled to continuation coverage, for
example, notice of the qualifying event was not provided to the employer within the
required time period (refer to subchapter 906 for information on providing notice).
The employer must indicate on the continuation notice that the qualified beneficiary
is not eligible for COBRA by marking the correct fields.
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The employer is responsible for informing qualified beneficiaries of the following:

» If electing continuation coverage, the completed Continuation - Conversion Notice
and Health Insurance Application forms must be sent to ETF (i.e., postmarked)
no later than 60 days after the date of the notice or 60 days after coverage ends,
whichever is later.

» If electing continuation coverage, the health plan will bill the continuant(s) directly.

» If electing continuation coverage and the continuants are moving or will move to a
different county for more than three months, they are eligible to change to another
health plan without restrictions, provided the application is received within 30 days
after the move. The application must be returned to the employer if the change
would be effective before the termination of coverage paid through the employer;
otherwise, the application must be returned to ETF. If the qualified beneficiary lives in
a county different from that of the subscriber, they are also eligible to change plans
at the time they begin continuation coverage.

Note: When entering a coverage end date in myETF Benefits for the employee’s
coverage or the end date for any specific dependent on the employee’s contract
through ‘Remove Dependent’, enter an end date that is the end of the month
following the event. There is an exception to this when removing the subscriber’s
spouse due to divorce (refer to subchapter 903).

906 Notice Requirement lllustration Chart

The following chart illustrates a sample timetable for providing notices related to
continuation coverage for common scenarios:

Minor Dependent
Eligibility Ends as
Dependent turns

18

receipt of
notice

Employee or Employer To Elect
Coverage | Beneficiary Must Continuation,
Event Occurs | Continues | Must Notify Provide Application Must
Until Employer By | Continuation | Be Submitted To
Notice By ETF By

Child (or 3/15 3/31 05/31 5 days after The later of 60
stepchild, DP’s receipt of days after coverage
dependent) turns notice terminates or 60 days
26 and is not after employer issues
disabled. ET-2311.
Dependent of 03/15 03/31 05/31 5 days after The later of 60

days after coverage
terminates or 60 days
after employer issues
ET-2311.
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Employee or Employer To Elect
Coverage Beneficiary Must Continuation,
Event Occurs | Continues | Must Notify Provide Application Must
Until Employer By | Continuation | Be Submitted To
Notice By ETF By
Disability Status | 03/15 03/31 05/31 5 days after The later of 60
Terminates for receipt of days after coverage
>26 Year Old notice terminates or 60 days
Dependent after employer issues
ET-2311.
Divorce Decree is | 03/15 End of 05/31 5 days after The later of 60
Entered the month But. if receipt of days after coverage
in which con’tinuation notice terminates or 60 days
continuation  { potice is given after employer issues
notice is late. check with ET-2311.
given ETF.
Domestic 03/15 03/31 05/31 5 days after The later of 60
Partnership is If continuation receipt of days after coverage
terminated notice is given notice terminates or 60 days
late, check with after employer issues
ETF. ET-2311.
Employee 03/15 03/31 05/31 5 days after The later of 60
Terminates receipt of days after coverage
Employment notice terminates or 60 days
after employer issues
ET-2311.

907 Continuation Coverage Information

The benefits and limitations of coverage under continuation are identical to those
provided to active employees. Participants enrolled in continuation coverage
(continuants) must select the health plan already in effect at the time of termination of
active coverage. Should the qualified beneficiary not reside in the same county as the
subscriber, the qualified beneficiary may elect a health plan in their county of residence
when enrolling in continuation coverage, even if the subscribers health plan is available
in the qualified beneficiary’s county. Continuants are allowed to change health plans
during the annual It's Your Choice Open Enrollment period or following a residential
move out of the county.

Continuation coverage may be in effect for up to 18 (sometimes 36) months. However,
continuation coverage may be terminated early for any of the following reasons:

* The premium for continuation coverage is not paid when due.

+ The subscriber becomes covered under another group health plan; a subscriber who
refuses health insurance offered by another employer will not be affected.
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* Aspouse is divorced from a covered employee and subsequently remarries and is
covered through the new spouse’s group health plan.

* Qualified beneficiary voluntarily cancels continuation coverage.

If COBRA coverage is terminated early for any reason, it may not be reinstated.
Continuants may elect to convert to individual coverage (conversion at non-group rates)
upon reaching the maximum continuation coverage period. Continuants are responsible

for knowing when group continuation coverage ends and must contact their health plan
directly to make application for conversion coverage as provided by the health plan.
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